top of page

GCSE Celebrations

Darwen Aldridge Community Academy Principal Lisa Dolan praised DACA’s Year 11 on GCSE results day today. Mrs Dolan said: “Congratulations to the class of 2020 who have shown a determination to succeed, demonstrated resilience in the face of adversity and quite simply have done the very best they could in extremely challenging and unprecedented circumstances. We are very proud of what Year 11 have achieved during all of their time with us and how they have coped in this most difficult of years. We continue to be here to support them with entry to our sixth form and their next steps.”

Amongst many DACA students celebrating today are Reuben Harrison-Starkie, who said: “I am extremely happy with my results, I worked very to achieve these grades and am proud of what I have got. I am really excited to be doing an apprenticeship in engineering at ELAN in Clitheroe”. Reuben’s results included 4 8’s Biology, D&T, maths and English Language.

Keen scientist Conor Jameson achieved top Grade 9s in Biology and Chemistry, along with 4 Grade 8s. He said; “I was shaking when I received my results and they were better than I expected. I was most proud of my results in the sciences as I want to come to DACA sixth form to study A-levels in chemistry, maths and physics and these results mean that I can!”

Harriet Burrow is celebrating twice over today. “I am so happy with my results, I am most proud of the grades I got in my sciences (9 in biology, 9 in physics, 8 in chemistry) as now I can go on to study A-Levels in chemistry, biology and maths. These results mean that I can pursue my career in medicine. It’s my birthday today and this is the best birthday present ever!”

Caleb Ali’s results included a 9 in maths and an 8 in physics. Caleb said “I have worked hard all year, I spent a lot of time revising and I feel really proud of these results. I am most proud of my grade 9 in maths. I plan to stay on to DACA sixth form to study A-levels in chemistry, physics and maths and want to pursue a career as a physicist. We are going to have pizza to celebrate my fantastic results!”

Nia Wilson said: “I am really proud of myself because these grades reflect all the hard work I have put in. I am most proud of my maths result as I worked really hard to improve my grades over the last 2 years. I am going to study A-Levels at DACA Sixth form as I want to be a physicist. I am going to celebrate my grades and enjoy the sunshine this afternoon.” Nia’s top grades included 9s in English Literature and geography and 8s in English Language and biology.

bottom of page